Breaking Down The 2023 Miami Open

Ava Stuzin, News Editor

From March 20 to April 2, Miami’s largest tennis tournament, The Miami Open, will take place at the Hard Rock Stadium, marking the tournament’s 38th edition. Traditionally a football stadium, the Hard Rock Stadium has transformed into a tennis complex with 27 courts, upscale dining and beverage options.

The Miami Open acts as the second leg of the Sunshine Double, a prize earned for consecutive and back-to-back wins of the Indian Wells Open and the Miami Open. Difficult to win, this title has only been accomplished by ten players.

“My favorite part has to be the venue and the area they host [the Miami Open] at and just the players that go. Usually, the top players obviously go because it’s like a Masters 1000. So most of the players go there and they watch and like the food; the food’s always been really good,” Miami Palmetto Senior High senior and Boys Tennis Captain Alejandro Munoz said.

Some of men’s tennis’ most successful players, including Novak Djokovic, the men’s number two tennis star, will not participate in this year’s tournament. Due to the U.S.’ COVID-19 travel restrictions, prohibiting unvaccinated non-U.S. citizens from entering the country, Djokovic does not have eligibility to play. 

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis has stepped in, attempting to reach out to President Joe Biden to intervene and allow Djokovic to participate in the tournament. In a Twitter message, DeSantis stated “The only thing keeping Novak Djokovic from participating in the Miami Open tennis tournament is President Biden’s misguided and unscientific COVID-19 vaccination requirement for foreign travelers,” demonstrating his support for the tennis star and his disapproval over the COVID-19 restrictions. 

Still, notable players like men’s number one tennis player and defending champion of the tournament, Carlos Alcaraz, men’s number three tennis player, Stefanos Tsitsipas, men’s number four tennis player, Casper Ruud, men’s number five tennis player, Taylor Fritz and men’s number six tennis player Andrey Rublev will play this year.

For the women’s players, Iga Swiatek, the current number one, looks to defend her 2022 championship title.  

The men’s singles final kicks off on Sunday, April 2, following the women’s singles final on Saturday, April 1.