Florida’s 2022 Midterm Election Results

Amy-Grace Shapiro, Online-Co-Editor-in-Chief

On Nov. 8 and days prior, U.S. voters took to the polls to cast their ballots in the midterm elections. These results would determine control over the House of Representatives and Senate. All 435 seats in the House and 35 of 100 seats in the Senate are on the ballot, as well as several influential gubernatorial elections in battleground states including Arizona, Georgia, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin.

Early voting began in most counties on Oct. 24, and the turnout is predicted to be higher than average for a midterm election. Here are Florida’s results in the Senate, House, Congress, gubernatorial election and more.

Marco Rubio for Florida Senator

Marco Rubio, a Republican, sought a third term as a Florida Senator. His opponent, state Rep. Val B. Demings, Orlando’s first female police chief, would have been Florida’s first Black senator. In his campaign, Rubio portrayed her as too liberal In her campaign, she highlighted her law enforcement credentials. Rubio won with 4,468,468 votes accounting for 57.7% of the total votes cast.

Ron DeSantis for Florida Governor

Gov. Ron DeSantis was challenged by state Rep. Charlie Crist, who defines himself as a centrist Democrat. After his second win in the gubernatorial election, DeSantis is rumored to run for the presidency in 2024. With 19% more votes than Crist, DeSantis accumulated 4,607,597 votes correlating to 59.4%. 

 The U.S. House of Representatives

Florida’s U.S. House election results led to a 20:7 breakdown with a lead in the GOP, gaining four seats. Below is the breakdown for each House district seat.

  • H1: M. Gaetz (Republican)
  • H2: N. Dunn (Republican)
  • H3: K. Cammack (Republican)
  • H4: A. Bean (Republican)
  • H5: J. Rutherford (Republican)
  • H6: M. Waltz (Republican)
  • H7: C. Mills (Republican)
  • H8: B. Posey (Republican)
  • H9: D. Soto (Democrat)
  • H10: M. Frost (Democrat)
  • H11: D. Webster (Republican)
  • H12: G. Bilirakis (Republican)
  • H13: A. Luna (Republican)
  • H14: K. Castor (Republican)
  • H15: L. Lee (Republican)
  • H16: V. Buchanan (Republican)
  • H17: G. Steube (Republican)
  • H18: S. Franklin (Republican)
  • H19: B. Donalds (Republican)
  • H20: S. Cherfilus-McCormick (Democrat)
  • H21: B. Mast (Republican)
  • H22: L. Frankel (Democrat)
  • H23: J. Moskowitz (Democrat)
  • H24: F. Wilson (Democrat)
  • H25: D. Wasserman Schultz (Democrat)
  • H26: M. Diaz-Balart (Republican)
  • H27: M. Salazar (Republican)
  • H28: C. Gimenez (Republican)

State Legislatures

The State Legislature, led primarily by the Republican Party, amounts to 28 seats out of 40. 

  • D1: Broxson (Republican)
  • D2: Trumbull (Republican)
  • D3: Simon (Republican)
  • D4: Yarborough (Republican)
  • D5: Davis (Democrat)
  • D6: Bradley (Republican)
  • D7: Hutson (Republican)
  • D8: Wright (Republican)
  • D9: Perry (Republican)
  • D10: Brodeur (Republican)
  • D11: Ingoglia (Republican)
  • D12: Burton (Republican)
  • D13: Baxley (Republican)
  • D14: Collins (Republican)
  • D15: Thompson (Democrat)
  • D16: Rouson (Democrat)
  • D17: Stewart (Democrat)
  • D18: DiCeglie (Republican)
  • D19: Mayfield (Republican)
  • D20: Boyd (Republican)
  • D21: Hooper (Republican)
  • D22: Gruters (Republican)
  • D23: Burgess (Republican)
  • D24: Powell (Democrat)
  • D25: Torres (Democrat)
  • D26: Berman (Democrat)
  • D27: Albritton (Republican)
  • D28: Passidomo (Republican)
  • D29: Grall (Republican)
  • D30: Polsky (Democrat)
  • D31: Harrell (Republican)
  • D32: Osgood (Democrat)
  • D33: Martin (Republican)
  • D34: Jones (Democrat)
  • D35: Book (Democrat)
  • D36: Garcia (Republican)
  • D37: Pizzo (Democrat)
  • D38: Calatayud (Republican)
  • D39: Avila (Republican)
  • D40: Rodriguez (Republican)

Apart from Florida, here are some monumental and history-breaking results from the 2022 midterm elections. Democrat Wes Moore will serve as Maryland’s first Black governor. Democrat Maura Healy won the Massachusetts governor race, and will now serve as the state’s first woman elected as governor and the country’s first lesbian governor. Another history-maker from this midyear election is Sarah Huckabee Sanders, Trump’s former White House press secretary. Sanders will serve as Arkansas’ first woman governor.

Trump-backed RepublicanKatie Britt, won a seat in Alabama’s senate, marking the first time the state elected a woman to office. Republican Rep. Maekywayne Mullin won a special election for the U.S. Senate, making him the first Native American to represent Oklahoma in the chamber in almost a century. 

Democrat Maxwell Frost will become the first member from Generation Z elected to Congress. Democrat Summer Lee was elected to Pennsylvania’s 12 District, becoming the first Black woman elected to Congress from the state. Lastly, Democrat Becca Balint won the race for Vermont’s single seat in the House, marking the first time the state sent a woman to congress.